The Church Of St Peter’s

The Church Of St Peter's

Part of the church dates back to the Medieval times, is the old Gothic porch which was built around 1524. Most of the church was rebuilt in the 17th Century, a watch house was also built in 1830, as parts of the country was violated by “Body Snatchers”. The old church though now a ruin and roofless is a picturesque and interesting building. The church can be found in the village of Duffus near Lossiemouth Scotland.

Advertisements

Petworth House

Petworth House

Home of Lord and Lady Egremont, Set in the South Downs National Park is one of Britain’s finest stately homes, set within a beautiful deer park. It is also home to many of the world famous paintings, many by J.M.W.Turner, VanDyck, Reynolds and Blake, together with ancient and Neo- classical sculpture and intricate woodcarving. Walks around the deer park and ponds, Now run by the National Trust.

Lecht Ore Mine

Lecht Ore Mine

Set in the hills at the foot of the Lecht. Originally opened as a iron ore mine in 1730, the mine saw substantial losses and closed within seven years. In 1841 the mine reopened by the Duke Of Richmond as a manganese mine, with over 60 men and boys working it was the largest manganese mine in Scotland. But sadly competition from imported ore caused the mine to close for the final time, after five years of trading. Only the crushing mill building remains which was built to carry the water wheel. The mine can be reached by an attractive short walk from the well of the Lecht car park.