The work was completed in August 1759. Many of the men employed in the construction were Cornish Tin Miners, and to avoid the possibility of being press gang into the Navy. Smeaton’s Tower is the third and most notable Eddystone Lighthouse. It marked a major step forword in the design of Lighthouses. In use until 1877, it was largely dismantled and rebuilt on Plymouth Hoe in the city of Plymouth, Devon, where it now stands as a memorial to its designer, John Smeaton.